__The stone face man

johncoyote

The stone face man

A Poem by Coyote Poetry

"

Everybody got a story. Some folks understand. No-one want to hear them anyway.

"

 367b1-old-man-drinking-alone

                             Stone face man

In old New Orleans 1993. I found a quiet bar. The music was playing low and the drinks were cheap.
I sat down near a old man staring at nothing and ordered a shot of Jack Daniel and a cold tapped beer.

I had my combat pay for going to war. I asked the man did he want a drink?
The man with the stone face didn’t answer for a minute. Silence was his friend.
Words had turn useless and he wanted to be left alone. The stone face man turn to
me and told me. “Soldier, I take the same that you got. Good whiskey and beer keep us
blinded for a minute.”

The bartender brought the drinks. We taps shot glasses…

View original post 496 more words

Leave a Reply

